Asian American Literary Awards

Since 1998, the Workshop has been recognizing excellence in Asian American literature through our annual awards ceremony. Join us in making this year’s event the best yet. Here’s to throwing prose, cocktails, and well-deserved kudos into the shaker and seeing what comes out, awarding the best in Asian American fiction, poetry, and nonfiction of 2005. And since Workshop members serve as the fuel to our literary fire, we are pleased to recognize their voices in our Members’ Choice Award. The event entails a ceremony and awards presentation with authors, followed by booksigning and reception.

Can’t Stop Won’t Stop: A History of the Hip Hop Generationby Jeff Chang, (Picador USA) Nonfiction.
Presented by Greg Tate.

Sightseeing by Rattawut Lapcharoensap, (Grove Press) Fiction.
Presented by Brian Leung.

Mad Science in Imperial City by Shanxing Wang, (Futurepoem books) Poetry.
Presented by Suji Kwock Kim.

With special guest speaker Sudhir Venkatesh

And surprise announcement of Members’ Choice Award winner!

Members’ Choice Award finalists:
A Thousand Years of Good Prayers by Yiyun Li, (Random House) Fiction
Real Karaoke People by Ed Bok Lee, (New Rivers Press) Poetry
Tetched: A Novel in Fractals by Thaddeus Rutkowski, (Behler Publications) Fiction

$12 general, $10 members, students free
Tickets at 212.494.0061

Asian American Literary Awards

Monday, December 4, 2006
7:00 PM
The Asia Society
725 Park Ave at 70th Street
New York NY
Upcoming Events
May 6 7:00 PM
Alice Sparkly Kat
4 Sessions, Thursdays, May 5/6-5/27, 7 PM ET Sliding Scale $100-$200  Register here! Tapping into the political power of magic and astrology for social, community, and personal transformation, Alice Sparkly Kat’s cross-cultural approach to astrology as a magical language unmasks the political power of astrology, showing how it can be...
May 11 7:00 PM
Angel & Hannah
Ishle Yi Park and Willie Perdomo
RSVP HERE! Ishle Yi Park, the first woman poet laureate of Queens, joins the Asian American Writers’ Workshop to celebrate the launch of Angel & Hannah, a novel of dynamic free verse. The book follows Hannah, a Korean American girl from Queens, and Angel, a Puerto Rican boy from Brooklyn,...
May 12 7:00 PM
Pop Song
Larissa Pham, R. O. Kwon
RSVP HERE! This May, the Asian American Writers’ Workshop will join Larissa Pham in celebrating her nonfiction debut, Pop Song. Finding inspiration in contemporary art, pop culture, and poetry – from Agnes Martin to Anne Carson – Pop Song is by turns intimate, vulnerable, and inventive, crafting a “perfectly fractured...